National Spotlight Series

Adam Rusgnach

Adam Rusgnach (NSW HPC/SCGA) proved to be one of the top performing Men's artistic athletes at the Australian National Championships in May. Training under the NSW High Performance Program, Adam has dedicated most of his life to the sport and tributes to his parents and coaches for helping him achieve his goals. 

Adam Rusgnach


When did you first start gymnastics and why?

I first started gymnastics at the age of 4. My parents decided to give me a go at gymnastics because I was always jumping around and climbing whatever I could find. 

How often do you train?

I train 6 days a week with the weekly hours up to 28.

Do you do any other sports or types of training?

Whenever I'm not doing gym I like to surf as a hobby. It gives me time to relax. It's basically my down time. 

Who is your gymnastics idol?

Definitely Kohei Uchimura 

What is the best experience you have had in the sport? 

There are a lot of great experiences in this sport for me mainly traveling to different destinations around the world and meeting/competing against the top gymnasts I look up to.

What was the best thing about National Championships 2019? 

Definitely getting to socialise and compete with not only my mates from NSW but all the other states as well. 

Who would you thank the most for helping achieve your goals at National Championships and why? 

There are a few people firstly Mum for all the support and both coaches Yusuf and HongWei for endless hours of coaching getting me to where I need to be.

What is your goal for the next 12 months in Gymnastics?

To do well at the London Open competition and to qualify for senior. 

What has been the hardest thing to overcome so far in Gymnastics and how did you get through it?

Having to travel one and a half hours to training for 7 years. Before I was offered a spot in the High Performance Centre my Dad was there for me every day. Driving me 3 hours a day to and from training because where I lived there weren't any gyms that had the right equipment for the level I was doing. We got through it by always having funny conversations in the car to get our minds off how long it took to get there. 

What do you do outside of the gym? 

I'm currently a coach. Coaching a variety of different age groups and people such as recreational, disabilities, schools and MAG. I'm also at Tafe studying a course in Sports and Recreation. Hobbies are surfing, camping and having a good time with mates. 

What do you love about gymnastics?

Everything. Mainly having challenges thrown at me every single day, keeping healthy and fit, having a good group of mates around me in training but most importantly working hard and seeing the results that come with it.